Sitemap Mano VGTU Medeinė


The origins and academic tradition of the Faculty of Architecture of VGTU dates back to the first half of the XXth century and is connected with the history of Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas and postwar Kaunas Institute of Technology.  
In 1971 the Faculty of Architecture was moved to Vilnius and became a part of newly established VISI (Vilnius Institute of Construction and Technology). In 1990 VISI was named Vilnius Technical University (VTU) and finally in 1996 – Vilnius Gediminas Technical University.
VGTU Faculty of Architecture is the largest institution of higher education in the field of Architecture in Lithuania. It provides all levels of professional studies: undergraduate (Bachelor), graduate (Master) and postgraduate (Doctoral). Over 500 students of all levels are studying in the school today.
Many of our academic staff members are leading authorities in their field. Faculty consists of 57 lecturers, including 10 professors and 32 associated professors. Approximately 85-100 selected students enroll for the Bachelor degree studies, 50 young architects are graduating with Masters’ degree every year.  Bachelor’s degree studies last 4 years (contains 240 ECTS credits), Master’s degree studies – 2 years (120 ECTS). VGTU Faculty of Architecture offers Bachelor’s program taught in English. 
In Lithuania, Bachelor degree diploma validates professional qualification of an architect. Those who want to continue their studies can choose between several specializations available in Master degree studies: Architecture of Buildings, Urban Planning, Urban Design, Renovation of Buildings, as well as separate program of History and Theory of Architecture (Humanitarian Sciences).
Faculty of Architecture has passed international accreditation of the Architecture study programs in 2008. The audit was initiated by Centre for Quality Assessment in Higher Education of Lithuania.  Study programs of the Faculty were reviewed by the international expert group headed by the vice president of Open Greece University and president of the Agency for Assurance of Higher Education in Greece, professor of architecture Spyros Amourgis.
On the basis of the recommendations of the international experts committee, Centre for Quality Assessment in Higher Education granted unconditional accreditation of study programs provided by VGTU Faculty of Architecture.
    • Page administrators:
    • Eglė Navickienė
    • Liutauras Nekrošius
    • Audrius Novickas
    • Edita Riaubienė
    • Jolanta Jundienė
    • Dalia Traškinaitė
    • Skirmantė Mozūriūnaitė